GENERAL INFORMATION The progress that Malappuram district has achieved in the field of education during the last decade is tremendous. Great strides have been made in the field of female education .
Type of Institutions Total Numbers
High Schools 192
Upper Primary Schools 338
Lower Primary Schools 823
Higher Secondary Schools 96
Vocational Higher Secondary Schools 24
Kendriya Vidyalaya 1
Navodaya Vidyalaya 1
Technical High Schools 4
Special Schools 12
Regular Colleges 13
B.Ed Centres 5
Poly Technics 4
Teachers Training Institutes 5
Oriental Title Colleges 7
Engineering Colleges 2
Ayurveda College 1

  Location of Various institutions

Institutions Location
Kendriya Vidyalaya (Central Govt.) Malappuram
Navodaya Vidyalaya (Under NCERT) Oorakam
Agriculture Technology Institute (Under Agriculture University) Tavanur


Technical High Schools
1 Technical  High School, Manjeri
2 Technical  High School, Kuttippuram
3 Technical  High School, Nannamukku
4 Technical  High School, Tirurangadi


Special   Schools
1 Special School for Blind, Mankada, Pallippuram
2 Technical  High School, Kuttippuram
3 Technical  High School, Nannamukku
4 Technical  High School, Tirurangadi


1 Govt. College, Malappuram
2 Thunjan Memorial Govt. College, Tirur
3 P.T.M. Govt. College, Perintalmanna
4 Mar Thoma College, Chungathara
5 M.E.S  Keveeyem College, Valancheri
6 E.M.E.A. College of Arts & Science, Kondotty
7 Unity Women's College, Manjeri
8 P.S.M.O. College, Tirurangadi
9 Dr. Gafoor Memorial M E S College, Mampad
10 N.S.S. College, Manjeri
11 M.E.S. College, Ponnani
12 MEA Sullamussalam Science College, Areacode


BEd Centres
1 University BEd  Centre, Manjeri
2 BEd  Centre, Anakkayam
3 Markaz  College, Valanchery
4 BEd Centre, Kootilangadi
5 MCT, Melmuri


Poly Technics
1 Govt. Poly Technic, Perinthalmanna
2 Govt. Poly Technic, Tirurangadi
3 S.S.M Poly Technic College, Tirur
4 Womens Poly Technic, Kottakkal


Teachers training Institutes
1 Government TTI, Malappuram
2 Government TTI Women, Tirur (DIET)
3 Sevamandir TTI, Ramanattukara
4. Raman Memorial TTI, Valancheri
5. Sethi Sahib Memorial Orphanage TTI, Tirurangadi


Engineering Colleges
1 MES Engineering College, Kuttippuram
2 MEA Engineering College, Pattikkad, Perinthalmanna


Oriental Title Colleges
1 Anwarul Islam Women's Arabic College, Mongam
2 Ansar Arabic College, Valavannur
3 Dar-ul-Uloom Arabic College, Vazhakkad
4 Anvarul Islam Arabic College, Areacode
5 Madeenathul Uloom Arabic College, Pulikkal
6 Sullamussalam Arabic College, Areekode
7 Darunnajath Arabic College, Karuvarakundu


1 Govt. ITI, Areakode
2 Govt. ITI, Pandikkad
3 MDPS ITI, Tirur


1 HAMAD ITC, Tirurkkad
2 HMY ITC, Manjeri
3 KMHS ITC, Charoor
4 Markaz ITC, Valanchery


Calicut University The seat  of Calicut University is at Tenhippalam in Malappuram District. It was established in 1968.



There are also one Govt ITI at Areakode and five ITC’s in Private Sector for diversified Vocational training.
I.H.R.D.E. and L.B.S. At Malappuram, a College of Applied Sciences having BSc courses in Electronics and Computer Sciences, function under the Institute  of Human Resources Development in electronics. There are four Technical High Schools  at Malappuram, Vazhakkad, Cheekode and Nellissery  under IHRDE.

Computer study sub centers under the Lal Bahadur Sasthri Institute are functioning at Manjeri, Kondotty, Malappuram and Chemmad.


 Last updated on 16-07-2005                                                    TOP